‘I’m a definite heart before head girl when it comes to art’ – ArtAttack Meets Juliette Loughran

The beautiful and dynamic Juliette Loughran started working in the fashion industry, before moving to the luxury car industry (family business), but it was her passion in the art world that inspired her to set up the Loughran Gallery. Juliette’s vision is to present work with longevity and innovation and it’s this uncompromising vision that has grown her business both with UK and international collector bases.

IMG_0751.jpg

I had the chance to speak to Juliette about Loughran Gallery and the state of London’s emerging art scene.

What motivated you to open your own gallery and have you always been interested in art?

It all happened slightly by accident. I’ve always loved art, verging on being slightly obsessed with it. When I was little I was forever drawing or painting something or other… basically making as much of a mess (at the time I thought more masterpiece) as I possibly could.

When I could I started collecting art, long before I even had a home of my own to put it in – my lack of walls didn’t seem that important to me. I don’t know why I put the first show on, I just remember wanting to do it, so I did. Then one thing led to another, it snowballed a little and here we are three years later.

You have always embraced the trend for pop-up exhibitions, what is it about them that appeals to you?

The brevity of pop-ups has always appealed to me; I love the idea of presenting a strong, distinctive exhibition that will be there for a short space of time. I like the dynamic nature of it.

Pop-ups have also given us the opportunity to introduce the gallery and our artists to lots of different sections of London and in turn bring the art to a really wide and varied collector base.

How do you maintain the ‘pop-up vibe’ in more settled locations, previously in Motcomb Street and now Cadogan Gardens?

We’ve definitely carried the energy and identity of our pop-ups into the longer term spaces: you’ll rarely stop by the gallery and find exactly the same works exhibited as the previous week.

We have such a diverse and fantastic range of artists, we can really show how a space that had a distinct identity the week before, will through a creative vision, take on an entirely different expression, atmosphere and identity – so the same principle that you would get from the pop-ups!

blizzard-group-show
Fantastic Pets For Adoption, Winter Group Show | Courtesy Loughran Gallery

What do you look for in potential artworks for the gallery?

Firstly I have to love the work, i’m a definite heart before head girl when it comes to art. Central to each work is that we always apply a discriminate eye to our range of art and only sell works that we feel are innovate, beautifully executed and that we believe will have a voice in the art world in years to come.

What would be your advice for someone looking to make their first serious art purchase / start a new collection?

Buy what you love. That’s where the advice to myself would stop but I’m guessing you want a little more than that!

Do your research – make sure you access as much information about the work and artist you are considering investing in.

Don’t be afraid to be eclectic – it’s all very well and good matching your art to your curtains but isn’t it better to have a home full of pieces you love and that meant something to you.

Trust your instincts – if there’s an artist you like or a particular work you love go for it.

Which artists should we keep an eye on in 2016?

I see exciting things for all our artists this year. I’m particularly loving Corinne Dalle-Ore’s work at the moment, it’s full of fun. Corinne quotes artists Cy Twombly and Jean-Michel Basquiat as her influences and their signature grafitti and calligraphy styles are evident in her work.

pylTjQ4BclByDTcBf5fh7HaMJ4Q4V_rVE-kjk7glkWA
Corinne Dalle-Ore, New York Crazy Late | Courtesy Loughran Gallery

What do you feel the London art scene is like for emerging artists?

I think it is and probably always has been challenging in every sense of the word: challenging in that it inspires and encourages artistic and personal growth, but we also know that any artist starting out is met with trials and that it can be a real difficulty breaking through. So I guess in that respect it’s a double-edged sword…

Do you have any New Year’s resolutions?

I never do New Year’s resolutions, that’s bad isn’t it?! I’ve got zero will power so they’d get broken in one day flat.

Have you got any future projects / plans lined up?

We’ve got some really exciting exhibitions planned for 2016; the start of the year sees us kicking off our residencies in Home House, Grace Belgravia and Muriel’s Kitchen in both Soho and Richmond.

Something I’m seriously excited about is our Nick Jeffrey show in May, his work is just stunning! Some of the pieces have been in the pipeline for three, bordering on four years, so highly anticipated is an understatement!

We’ll also be hosting a number of group exhibitions – I love doing these as they are very much the physical manifestation of the gallery’s identity. And finally, I wouldn’t rule out a Loughran Gallery overseas adventure….but stay tuned for any announcements via our website.

– Harry Dougall

The Winter Group Exhibition, December 1st – January 29th, Loughran Gallery 43 Cadogan Gardens London SW3 2TB

Leave a Reply

